What Is AFQT?

Your Armed Forces Qualification Test (AFQT) score is part of what determines if you are eligible to enlist in the military. You receive your AFQT score after completing the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery.

The ASVAB has nine separate sections, but your AFQT score is calculated with the results from four sections: Word Knowledge (WK), Paragraph Comprehension (PC), Arithmetic Reasoning (AR), and Mathematics Knowledge (MK). WK and PC scores are scaled to create a Verbal Expression (VE) score. Your AFQT score is calculated using the following formula: 2VE+MK+AR = AFQT. After obtaining a standard score, you are given a percentile score.

AFQT scores are expressed as percentile scores and classified according to specific categories.

  • Category I – 93-99
  • Category II – 65-92
  • Category IIIA – 50-64
  • Category IIIB – 31-49
  • Category IVA – 21-30
  • Category IVB – 16-20
  • Category IVC – 10-15
  • Category V – 0-9

In certain circumstances, exceptions to minimum score requirements can be authorized. However, this is relatively rare. If you aspire to join the military, your best course of action is to boost your score by reviewing practice test questions.

Retaking The Test

Since AFQT scores are tied to enlistment bonuses and military career opportunities, you may want to retake the test if you believe your score does not reflect your abilities. The military allows you to retake the test after one month has passed, but you must complete all sections. Unfortunately, there is no option to only retake the sections with the lowest scores.

If you improve your score by 20 points or more by retaking the ASVAB, you will be asked to complete an additional confirmation test. This extra step is intended to discourage cheating and other unethical behavior.